• Crazy Stuffs Corner

    Click The Image To Enlarge

  • We Cover It Live

  • Ladies Sports News

  • Becouse Women eNews Kenya Cares

  • Pages

  • Women eNews Kenya

    September 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
  • Past Stories

  • Just Images

  • free counters
  • Advertisements

Honoring Four Brave Women Journalists

Washington, D.C. 2 September 2011 – Four brave women journalists who have risked their lives covering the news will be honored by the International Women’s Media Foundation with Courage in Journalism Awards and a Lifetime Achievement Award in Los Angeles on Oct. 24 and New York on Oct. 27.

International Women’s Media Foundation’s Courage in Journalism Award winners face daunting challenges reporting on violence in their countries. 

Mexican drug cartels have murdered two editors and threatened to kill Zeta editor Adela Navarro Bello, Iranian officials have targeted and harassed Reuters bureau chief Parisa Hafezi and Thailand authorities have charged editor Chiranuch Premchaiporn with violating laws for allowing 10 strangers to post anti-royal comments on her website, Prachatai.

Premchaiporn is standing trial now, facing up to 70 years in prison in a test of Internet freedom.

Legendary reporter Kate Adie, BBC’s first chief news correspondent, will be awarded the IWMF’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Adie has paved the way for future generations of women journalists by fearlessly covering breaking news from Bosnia to Sierra Leone for decades.

“These courageous women have endured terrible hardships, without questioning their own safety. They face danger and violence to report the day’s most important stories, despite being targeted by authorities,” said IWMF Board Co-Chair Barbara Cochran. “We are honored to tell the world their stories.”

The 2011 Courage in Journalism Award winners — who will be officially honored in Los Angeles and New York in October – are:

Adela Navarro Bello, Courage in Journalism Award
Adela Navarro Bello, general director and columnist for Zeta news magazine in Mexico, who reports on the escalating violence and corruption in the border city of Tijuana. Navarro Bello, 43, has refused to remain silent, despite repeated warnings that she is being targeted by drug cartels. 


Parisa Hafezi, Courage in Journalism Award
Parisa Hafezi, bureau chief for Reuters in Iran, has been beaten, harassed and detained while covering public opposition to the government. Hafezi, 41, is under constant surveillance. Government officials have raided her home and office and threatened her.

Chiranuch Premchaiporn, Courage in Journalism Award
Chiranuch Premchaiporn, director and webmaster of Prachatai online newspaper in Thailand. Premchaiporn, 43, faces up to 70 years in prison for anti-government comments posted on her website. She has been repeatedly arrested, her offices have been raided and her website has been blocked multiple times by the Thai government.

Kate Adie, Lifetime Achievement Award
Kate Adie, a veteran broadcast journalist, has been presented with the IWMF’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Adie, a presenter on BBC Radio 4’s “From Our Own Correspondent,” has covered the world for more than 40 years, reporting breaking news from Tiananmen Square and Lockerbie to Sierra Leone and Belgrade. Adie, 65, was the BBC’s first chief news correspondent and has paved the way for future generations of journalists.


One Response

  1. […] Honoring Four Brave Women Journalists (ladyenews.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterDiggRedditFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: