A Degree Or Else, You Are Fired

Kenyan Journalists at Internews Offices

April 4th 2011- Sometime in 2004, an editorial policy in one of the media houses sent several media women packing for lack of Bachelors education.

Efforts by Association of Media Women in Kenya – AMWIK to contact the editorial managers of the media house were in vain, this was despite the fact that historically most of education that had been available was diploma based

Beginning today, we bring you stories of Kenyan ladies who eventually came out of  joblessness through AMWIK scholarship fund

Read a story of Lilian Juma

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Lilian Juma: AMWIK Programmes Officer

___________________________________________________________________________________________

The partial scholarship came at an opportune moment when I was very low on funds.

I had just walked out of a stressful job and knew it would be difficult to get another one as all job advertisements in my career require minimum qualification of a Degree.

Worse still I was desperate to finish my Degree course at the University of Nairobi where I had only done two semesters and was worried about being able to pay for the remaining semesters.

The fear of not being able to finish my studies in good time brought in another bout of stress; I knew that earning a Degree would be key to my success yet here I was, penniless! Then, thank God, the AMWIK scholarship landed my way!

I’m grateful that AMWIK paid my tuition fees and I completed studies. And surely, the Degree opened a door to success as I became more marketable and even landed a better job at AMWIK.

The job has further enabled her to enroll for a Masters Degree course at the University of Nairobi. Now I’m almost through with repaying part of the scholarship.

I’m confident in my work and pray for success of the AMWIK Scholarship Fund so that more women can benefit.

God Bless AMWIK

Leave a Reply

